You can sign up with any Google ID you already have: Gmail, YouTube, Google+ — it's all good.
As part of the sign-up process, Google asks if it is OK for Kerika to access your Google account information. Here's what we ask for, and why:
We use your name, email address, and photo (if available) to create your Kerika account. You will find this at the top-left of the Kerika application screen when you are logged in.
Advantage: you don't need yet another user name and password in order to use Kerika; you can just use your Google account.
When you add files to your boards, these get stored in your own Google Drive. Your files don't sit on our servers.
People on your team are given appropriate access to your board-specific files: Team Members get read+write access, and Visitors get read-only access. And when someone leaves your board, they lose access to your board files.
We also make it easy for you to search your Google Drive for files you already store there, and add them to your boards. This searching is done by Google; we never read your files.
Advantage: your files are always under your control, in your own Google Drive.
Kerika is great for real-time collaboration, of course: any changes you make to your boards and files are shown without any delay to everyone else who is part of the board team.
But, a lot of the time your coworkers will be working on your boards when you are not online, which means they need to be able to make changes to shared files when you are offline. This is why we ask for offline access to your Google Drive.
Advantage: work with people in different timezones, and always be in synch when you login.